What is ORIGIN Innovation Awards?

ORIGIN Innovation Awards is APAC’s esteemed accolade for tech innovation which aims to provide recognition to companies that have exemplified the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship in the running of their businesses. The inaugural ORIGIN Innovation Awards started in 2020 as an initiative by TechNode Global with a goal to build a dynamic community in propelling them to soar to greater heights. Read: Inaugural ORIGIN Innovation Awards celebrates the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship



You will be presented opportunities to network with key decision-makers and forge new relationships.


Enjoy extended mileage and visibility with TechNode’s exclusive media coverage.


Have your solution scored by Tier 1 investors, and veteran judges. Opportunities to engage investors and corporates in a private setting.



There are 4 main categories and 19 sub-categories open to entry in the ORIGIN Innovation Awards 2020.

The aim of Startup Awards is to recognise startups offering disruptive solutions that have created outstanding impact on the way businesses operate or perceived as capable of changing the status quo.

We welcome startups in the following 11 emerging technologies industries to submit their nomination.

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • FinTech
  • IoT
  • HealthTech
  • Logistics & LMF
  • E-commerce
  • Food & AgriTech
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Supply Chain & New Retail
  • EduTech
  • Internet Solutions (aaS)

Judging Criteria:

  1. Value created by the product or service
  2. Attractiveness of the market opportunity
  3. Viability of business model
  4. Capability of the management team
  5. Growth potential
  6. Technology breakthrough

The Digital Transformation Award aims to recognize established companies who have adopted emerging technologies to transform or make a significant change to their business models and operations. Solutions could have been co-developed jointly with tech partners, or by their in-house tech team.

We welcome corporates to submit their nomination for the 1 sub-category below.

  • Best Digital Transformation

Judging criteria: 

  1. Business impact and value created by the digital transformation project
  2. What’s the game-changer?
  3. Innovation
  4. The technologies underpinning the digital transformation

The Ecosystem Enabler Awards aims to celebrate the successes of ecosystem enablers who have directly impacted the growth and development of the entrepreneurial landscape and created growth in their community.

We welcome ecosystem enablers (VCs, incubators, accelerators, co-working spaces, interest groups, etc.) to submit your nomination for one of the 2 sub-categories below.

  • People’s Choice VCs
  • Community Builder Award

Judging criteria: 

  1. Exemplify strong commitment in mentorship and community building
  2. Leading recognized initiatives that bring about positive impact to their community
  3. Strong relationships with the key ecosystem stakeholders
  4. Demonstrate exceptional leadership

The Movers & Shakers Awards aims to recognize individuals who have exemplified important qualities of a great leader, and dedication to the startup community, giving back through offering mentorship and serving as a resource in a peer to peer environment.

The Best Sustainable Solution recognizes companies/solutions that have developed solutions to serve a greater cause (e.g. social, cultural or environmental issues) bringing benefits to the community-at-large.

In light of the significant impact on businesses and the economy during this crisis, a special Resilience Award will be given out to acknowledge companies/solutions which are proven capable of fighting the pandemic.

We welcome individuals and companies to submit nominations for one of the 5 sub-categories below.

  • Outstanding Female VC (individual)
  • Promising Female Founder (individual)
  • Founder of the Year (individual)
  • Best Sustainable Solution (company entity/solution)
  • Resilience Award (company entity/solution)

Judging criteria:

  1. Strategic Direction
  2. Innovation & Disruption
  3. Leadership Capability
  4. Business Model Scalability
  5. Personal Influence and Impact


General Eligibility & FAQs

Have a question about ORIGIN Innovation Awards? Read on to find your answer. If our FAQ section doesn’t answer your question, reach out to us here.

General Qualifying Criteria for Startup Awards Category:

  • The nominee must be based or operating in APAC
  • The nominee should have a commercialized product or working prototype
  • The nominee’s funding round must not exceed Series B (i.e. seed funding – Series B are eligible)

General Qualifying Criteria for Digital Transformation Award Category:

  • The nominee should have a physical office presence in APAC
  • The nominated project or initiative should have gone live and be at execution stage, or should have been initiated between January 2017 and April 2020. (Within 3 years)

General Qualifying Criteria for Ecosystem Enabler Awards Category:

  • The nominee should have a physical office presence in APAC

General Qualifying Criteria for Movers & Shakers Awards Category:

  • The nominee should be based in APAC

We welcome individuals to vie for the following Awards categories:

  • Outstanding Female VC (under Movers & Shakers)
  • Promising Female Founder (under Movers & Shakers)
  • Founder of the Year (under Movers & Shakers)
  • The nominations submission period has been extended: 1st June 2020 – 20th Sept 2020 (new!)
  • Nominations must meet all criteria stipulated in the guideline, otherwise will be disqualified.
  • The nomination is free. No fees applied.
  • Self-nominations are welcome for all Awards categories. Please indicate self-submission in the nomination form
  • Rule of thumb – you can only nominate your company for one Award category
  • You are highly encouraged to attach your company/project deck in the nomination form. This allows the entry to live up to its full potential and be assessed fairly.
  • Public nominations are welcome for all Awards categories. Please indicate that you are nominating someone else in the nomination form
  • There is no limit to the number of unique companies you can nominate. Rule of thumb – each unique company can only be nominated for one Award category
  • The judging period will take place from 21st Sept 2020 – 9th Oct 2020
  • All entries will be vetted by TechNode Global to ensure all criteria are met
  • All entries will be evaluated and scored by a curated Advisory Committee, based on the information submitted online in accordance with the judging criteria. There will be no virtual or f2f pitching
  • The decision of TechNode Global is final

Winners stand to enjoy the following perks and benefits:

  • Marketing and publicity package by TechNode Global and our media partners
  • Invitation to post-award activities such as pitching and networking events with venture capitalists and business partners


TechNode Global would like to thank the partners of ORIGIN Innovation Awards for their continuous support.
If your organisation is interested in becoming a partner for ORIGIN Innovation Awards, please reach out to us here.

Please help spread the word about the Awards amongst your community using our communications toolkit. You can download this kit here and spread the word through your newsletters, social media channels and any other communication channels.

Communications Toolkit
This toolkit contains Awards’ information, suggested social media content and images to help you promote the Awards. If you would like any other material to help you spread the words, please reach out to us.